Many people working longer hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages..

The present work culture has led to many working continuously with little time for leisure activities. Though there are both advantages and disadvantages to it, I believe some amount of free time is absolutely necessary to rejuvenate and refresh one's mind to perform better at work. Firstly, tight schedules or an important project prolongs time spent at work. Longer office time affects one's health. As a result, people tend to develop stress-related illnesses like obesity and depression. Furthermore, it minimises their working capacity. For instance, a recent study done among IT professionals showed longer working hours to be associated with the development of mental depression. Also, longer work schedules mean very little time with family. This further creates differences between husband and wife leading to misunderstandings. Hence, prolonged working hours cause health issues and family problems. On the other hand, shorter working hours mean more time for relaxation which helps to rejuvenate the mind and body. This indirectly helps to concentrate better at work leading to improvement in efficiency at work. Moreover, a greater amount of time to play sports or to go on family holidays. For example, an hour of physical activity has been found to improve one's daily functioning. Thus, leisure in the form of a sport or family holiday is important. In conclusion, shorter working hours will result in more leisure time. Subsequently, it will allow oneself to take time for sports which will improve their health. Additionally, greater family time can be devoted.