In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Small local shops have closed in the last years due to customers who go to large shopping centres or malls for shopping. I think this is a positive development because it is convenient and better for the environment. The first reason why I believe it is a positive development for shopping at large shopping centres or malls and not at small local shops is that it is more convenient. That is to say that when customers are at large shops or malls can purchase everything they need in one mall and does need to travel to many places for shopping. For example, Mogadishu Mall used to only sell groceries in the past, but now there are food courts and other stores in their centres, which has made shopping far more convenient for people. The other reason why I think shopping only in large shopping centres and malls is a positive development is that it is good for the environment. That is because there is less need for people to travel to many places for shopping, therefore, people burn less fuel which results in less air pollution. For instance, the advent of large shopping centres in Kenya has helped in reducing air pollution within cities as people now tend to travel to only one place to do their shopping. In conclusion, I think that the reason why customers travel to malls and large shopping centres and not travel to small local shops is the convenience and advantage they have on the environment.