Today, people are buying more consumer goods like jewelry and household appliances. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many individuals tend to purchase more consumer products such as jewellery and home appliances. In my opinion, this emerging behaviour will bring more negative impacts on society. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this buying trend. Firstly, I will explain the positive aspects and will be followed by the negative aspects explanation. To begin with, buying these kinds of stuff could make a person becomes happier for a certain time. Multiple studies explain that shopping would bring a joyful feeling. People look more attractive with jewellery, whereas sort of household appliances like microwaves, washing machines and vacuum cleaners would make domestic jobs easier to complete. For example, my sister goes to the shopping mall every week as her way to release the stress level caused by her workload. In addition, she said that after buying some consumer goods, her mood would be better for a while. Thus, buying these sorts of things could temporarily improve an individual's level of happiness. Despite its advantages, this growing trend would bring negative effects. Usually, the price of these product categories is expensive. Furthermore, people would lose their saving fund if they spend too much on luxurious things. For instance, my friend who really loves to collect expensive goods had financial difficulties when emergencies like accidents happen. The hospital bill was much higher than his amount of savings, then he could not get the best medication. For this reason, over-consumption habits can negatively affect people's financial well-being. To sum up, consumer goods product expenses could bring positive things to improve mood but this habit brings some negative impacts on the financial health of an individual. The disadvantages were higher than the positive impacts. In my view, it is better to spend the money wisely.