Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the previous era, hosting international sporting ceremonies used to be a great opportunity for countries to signify their strengths and prosperity and show the international communities their cultures and histories but in recent years, the opinion of people and nations around the globe regarding this topic is started to swayed and almost polarized. In my perspective, despite the benefits that the events could have, it might not be enough the justify the risks and the tolls it potentially brings upon the nation anymore. To begin with, the first associated factor that needs to be taken into account when considering hosting the events is the cost. Building new sports stadiums, convention halls, and related properties like Olympic villages costs a lot go money and can take a massive toll on the country. For example, The 2020 summer Olympics take a huge toll on the country’s financial Conditions. The design of the newly built stadium has to change several times to lower the cost. It is true that if executed well it could help generate economic value later on. However, in the current state of the world where the world economy is started to fall into recession and people’s ability to spend is less than it used to, waiting for tourists might not be a plausible solution anymore. Secondly, Newly built properties associated with sports events still need maintenance and inspections even after the ceremony end and a lot of countries did not have a plan for utilizing these buildings. Hence, despite being big and grandiose at the beginning, these properties did not get utilized enough later on and instead were being wasted. For instance, plenty of sports stadiums that were built for the 2016 Olympics in Rio got abandoned and desolated to the point where most of them are beyond repair. In conclusion, international sports events used to bring spotlights and benefits to the nation hosting them. Nevertheless, with how much the world and people’s perceptions towards it have changed, countries who consider competing for the spot of hosting nations might need to be more careful and reconsider their options.