Scientists advise people to lead a healthy lifestyle, but most people continue with unhealthy activities. Why do you think it is and what can do with it?e

In recent years, people around the world have adopted an unhealthy lifestyle which led them to several health problems and despite several attempts to promote a more healthy habit from the governments and related organizations, it still did resolve the issue. Thus, to fix this ongoing problem, we need to pinpoint its exact cause which in my opinion, is due to the structural problem of the society rather than a lack of self-discipline from individuals. There are several potential factors that can lead to people facing health issues and a lot have to do with how the structural system is designed, which has shaped people ’s habits. First, unhealthy diets are mostly stemmed from the fact that unhealthy meals and ingredients are cheaper than organic and healthier options which, as a result, make them more affordable for people especially the working class who try to put food on the table. For example, in several nations around the world like Thailand or even the US, junk foods with high cholesterol are less expensive and more accessible than clean and healthy foods. Second is how people spend long hours working per day which lowers the chance of them getting enough exercise. Moreover, having access to decent fitness and gyms is considered a privilege rather than a basic need. Especially in developing countries where governments do not have enough budget to spend and generally do not really pay attention to this aspect of people ’s lives. However, despite knowing the cause, the solution to such a chronic issue is still going to be difficult and requires intervention from the government. For instance, the government can try to subsidy the production of healthy ingredients and make them affordable for normal citizens. They can also try to build gyms and fitness as public spaces or even plan and change the city area to be a walkable city and consequently, citizens can have access to cheap and free exercise. In conclusion, an unhealthy lifestyle is the result of several structural problems rather than individuals being lazy and irresponsible. Therefore, to intimately resolve the issue we must try to erase all the factors that can lead to people adopting those habits but to do so, will require not only people ’s cooperation but also the government’s oversight as well.