Some feel government rather than private companies should be in charge of medical services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people, especially in countries below the poverty line, are falling ill. Some people, including myself, feel that it is the responsibility of the government to have medical facilities while others believe that private companies should be in charge of the same. This essay will discuss why it is important for local authorities to have medical services. Firstly, private companies focus on business and their motif is not the well-being of individuals. For example, in the year 1997, Cipla had a campaign where they sold drugs at lower costs to cancer patients. However, even though they reduced the price of their medicines, their ultimate goal was to promote their formula. Clearly, we cannot expect these companies to continue such promotions for general health. Secondly, governments levy taxes on the income of employees. Hence it becomes obligatory for them to take care of citizens. For example, the authority of India should be responsible for taking care of patients because they deduct twenty-two per cent of the salary of all employees. Above all, the government has a clear picture of the number of individuals who are suffering from various ailments. As a result, they can stabilise the supply of medical products depending on who deserves a higher share. To illustrate, in 1996 the representative of Maharashtra was able to regulate the cost of resources based on which city had more ill citizens. Historic data does play a significant role in planning. Lastly, people develop a sense of self-satisfaction when they know that their province is taking good care of them. Moreover, due to emotional well-being, fewer people fall sick. Prevention is better than cure. To conclude, although private firms are rich enough to take care of certain regions, I strongly argue that they cannot be forced to look after citizens. Furthermore, we cannot rely on them whatsoever. It is solely the duty of the government.