Nowadays, people can live and work anywhere they want because of the development of communication technology and transport. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The rapid advances in communication and transport have offered people unprecedented freedom in their place of work and living. This essay will assess the pros and cons of this phenomenon in an attempt to reach a comprehensive conclusion. There are several benefits of having more choices on where to work and live. Firstly, people are more likely to find a job which better suits their skillsets and passions as more cities can be considered when doing the job hunting. For example, with the advent of the express train network covering major cities in China, residents in Hangzhou can choose to work in Shanghai, which has abundant employment opportunities, because the trip takes less than one hour. Furthermore, the ubiquitous Internet gives rise to telecommuting, that is, working from home via computer or even smartphone. By doing so, the traffic load could be significantly reduced, and thus the problem of traffic jams mitigated. On the other hand, as with any new invention in human history, some drawbacks could come with the above-mentioned conveniences. An obvious concern is the resulting decline in face-to-face interpersonal interaction might jeopardize the quality of communication and rapport building among colleagues, consequently, leading to a loss of efficiency and productivity. Also, with no supervisor around, telecommuters who lack self-discipline might not do their work as diligently as expected. However, those issues could be effectively tackled by better human resource management and raising public awareness of these limitations. In conclusion, I believe the downsides of the trends are eclipsed by its upsides, because it gives people more choices in their career and life, and ultimately improve their living standards.