Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

There is debate about whether patriotism is negative overall or has a more positive effect on the community. In this essay, both aspects will be discussed to reach a conclusion. On the one hand, having a devotion to one`s country is essential for a nation`s independence, development and union. Firstly, independent countries rely on their individuals who support the nation`s culture and vision, hence people will have a feeling of where they can belong without hesitation. Second all, economical development is crucial for governments, in contrast it can not be reached without a stable growing population. In order to increase economic growth rapidly, rule makers should focus on the permanent workload of people who is loyal enough to contribute to their society. For example, in Mongolia parliament members made a regulation that encourages women to give birth to more children, therefore it will increase the population in the future. Lastly, it is important for a nation to have a spiritual mind that unites all indifferences and challenges under one value. Thus it makes the country even stronger together. On the other hand, patriotism might cause extremes such as narcism and discrimination. During human historical moments there were a lot of narcissistic minds that never accepts any other culture. It will lead to disrespect for others and increase discrimination. For instance, during Covid 19 pandemic there were crimes reported against Asians because of intolerance and disrespect. Of,course it is unacceptable for any kind of violence in our society, so we should discourage extreme one-sided opinions. To conclude, although patriotism has negative effects like narcism and discrimination, it has a much more positive effect on the community economically and mentally. In my opinion, the advantages of nationalism outweigh its disadvantages.