Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports have always been one of the best sources of entertainment for people around the earth.Whereas most people assume that international sports events are a perfect occasion to display to the world the calibre of the organizing nation, some believe that these are a waste of national wealth. I strongly agree with the former. This essay will discuss the detail of my stance with examples in subsequent paragraphs. First of all, when a country hosts a multination sports activity, it attracts crowds from around the world. Moreover, this boosts the tourism industry and benefits the national economy. For instance, When the FIFA world cup was held in Russia, people from different countries travelled to watch the game irrespective of the distance and weather. Thus, driving tourism, spending and cash flow inside the nation. Secondly, the holding nation has the opportunity to showcase its culture and traditions to other nations which will attract more visitors in future.Eventually,other countries will respect and appreciate our culture. To exemplify, the introduction of the Indian Premier League cricket match was a great chance for a foreign player to play with India and learn more about our traditions and festivals.The recent tweet from David warner, an Australian cricketer to wish the community of India on Diwali is an amazing example of cultural understanding and admiration. In conclusion, despite the expense involved in hosting a universal play event, I strongly believe that the benefits associated with it will be massive.When a country organizes such international events, it increases its brand value and reputation.