In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a large family in the past? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Families used to be bigger than 10 years ago due to more children in the family, on most continents. In my opinion, there are more benefits to being a part of a large family in comparison to drawbacks. In this essay, I would discuss the advantages and disadvantages and support that there are plenty of positive sides than negative ones with relevant examples and explanations. On the one side, if a person had a big family, there were a plethora of benefits for children, females and males. Firstly, household chores were divided among women in the family, this would reduce the stress and have plenty of time for themself. Secondly, for men in the family, the stress of running the family would be reduced as there would more than one male person was there to earn, this way they could able to live their life peacefully without any burden. Lastly, children were having company to play with, to enjoy their free time, so that they did not have to find friends outside their home. Moreover, children developed a sense of sharing and caring feelings, which would help them to survive in the future. Therefore, I would say, there were more than enough plus points to being a part of a larger family. On the other side, it did have some drawbacks. Such as, there were more fights among family members due to more or fewer sacrifices from other people. In addition to this, sometimes jealousy and grid of one person could ruin a piece of family and crime happens. In conclusion, as a larger family gave more happiness and peace, negative sides of it could be negotiated by those family members such as small fights unless it did not create a big scene. Hence, I would say because of all the reasons I have discussed above, there were more benefits than drawbacks.