Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by many that government should increase the price of confectionary to decrease its consumption because of its potential effects on human well-being. In my,opinion it will motivate people to focus on their health and they will avoid buying products having high carbohydrate and sugar content. The harmful effects of sugar have been known to the world but due to their pleasant taste and unstoppable,cravings these products are hard to avoid and are the source of many diseases for example diabetes, obesity and dental caries. Firstly high consumption of sugar and carbohydrates leads to insulin resistance which plays a key role in causing obesity and diabetes. Obesity and diabetes are syndrome which can involve other organs and leads to heart,kidney,eye and liver damage, Secondly it is the cause of poor dental hygiene and dental caries which eventually leads to tooth loss. These all terrifying effects outweigh the pleasant and tempting effects of sugary products on health. In order to solve this alarming condition, state and community should take responsibility to socially aware the population through seminars and social media regarding the harmful effects of sugary drinks and food. The state should impose taxes on the confectionary so that people will think about other healthy and cheaper options for example plant-based sweetener stevia with zero calories. In addition to this restaurants and shops should sell water and other flavoured drinks at low prices so that people can switch to healthier options. In conclusion, I agree that government and the community can play a key role by applying taxes on sweet items and by social awareness which can result in better health and economic stability for the population.