In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely considered that in Britain seniors should live in nursing homes paid by their families. However, there are people who think that the government must cover these expenses. This essay agrees with the second statement and describes a few main reasons why the government must take care of our elder citizens. Firstly, everyone should deserve to spend their last years not worrying about their family's financial situation and still receive professional medical assistance. So, the best thing the government can do is to pay for this, as during their lives, seniors already paid a lot of taxes and should not depend on relatives. This opportunity is especially important for people who are aging alone and do not have any immediate family members to rely on. For example, the recent research on life expectancy demonstrated that seniors who did not have to worry about paying nursing home's fees lived up to 5 years longer and healthier in comparison with those whose families had to pay for that. Secondly, the fact that the government takes care of all the bills nursing homes may submit, can set very nice life standards in the country. This may help to create a socially expected behavior when each elder person is treated with respect. Besides, those individuals may feel needed and loved even when they are the last ones from their families who are alive. Here the government plays a huge role. To prove this point of view, look at Japan, where each senior citizen is taken care of no matter their finances or statuses. Such expectations can help to rise a proper mentality in young generations. To summarize, there are definitely benefits of the government paying for nursing homes. It allows elder people to spend the last years of life in comfortable places, receive all the required assistance and not to worry about finances while still helping all society members to maintain a proper attitude to seniors.