MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT TODAY THERE IS GENERAL INCREASE IN ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR AND LACK OF RESPECT FOR OTHERS AMONG CHILDREN. WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THIS SITUATION? HOW TO IMPROVE IT?

There has been a significant rise in behaving anti-socially and showing disrespect by children for others which is a matter of concern. Although an ineffective system of imparting knowledge and lack of parental supervision are major causes, some possible ways can address this situation effectively. One of the primary reasons is not being the teaching system effective as it was earlier when students were made fully focused not only on the academic curriculum but also on moral values. By this, students kindle their interest in imbibing moral and ethical values from their teachers, thus evoking harmony in the community. Another is the negligence in the form of supervising offspring’s activities and habits of their parents which might be because of their parents’ busy schedule. For instance, a careless type of lifestyle makes young ones deprived of learning phenomenally important social norms, requite for becoming dutiful citizens. Despite these reasons, one of the possible methods is to incorporate an additional subject in the school curriculum on educating morality and schools may devise a strategy for when and from where to start teaching young ones such education. Therefore, this may lower the cases of misconduct not only on school premises but also in society. The other is the proper control and regular check of a child’s activity by the parents. For example, The Times, a well-known newspaper, published that a child who remains under parents’ supervision is less likely to perform anti-social activities and show disrespect compared with those who do not have the same. In conclusion, while inappropriate methods in school curriculum and children being unsupervised by their parents are major attributes, some measures can bring drastic changes in their behaviour from anti-social to social and disrespectful to respectful.