Some people think that the detailed criminal description in newspapers and on TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that giving details about criminal descriptions in the media such as newspapers and TV has bad effects, so they want the government to restrict this kind of information in the media. In my opinion, while illustrating criminal descriptions can make people who have bad intentions face the sentence, it can cause public concern in society. Giving detailed information about criminals can make individuals, who are about to commit a crime, rethink what they are going to do. To be more specific, if the government presents crime news along with punishment policies, this will make possible criminals back down. There was a guy who broke into a jewellery store in a Vietnam province and was arrested, his crime was detailed on TV. This kind of information is one of the solutions to reduce crime rates in the future and help the government control the situation better. Albeit conceding the merits of showing in-depth crime stories in the media, it will increase public apprehension about national security. When people are more and more concerned about the security in their area, social interaction may become more reluctant because people are beware of others around them. There was a horrific murder that once caused a stir in society, in which the culprit is an underage boy who killed the whole neighbour's family. Until now, his crime is like a horror movie because of his merciless acts and people who live nearby the house of murder are very scared that someday similar things could happen again. In conclusion, whereas the prevalence of cruel crimes in the media can hesitate potential culprits, it can raise public concern in society. In my point of view, this sort of information should be limited to the media in order to decrease its negative effect on viewers.