Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people hold the view that the amount of household waste recycled is far from sufficient. The argument they put forward is that the only way to increase this is to make it legally mandatory. I partially agree with this idea and believe that although passing more rules can be effective to this purpose, there are other ways to scale up recycling that should be taken into account. On the one hand, defining more regulations forcing individuals to devote more attention to this issue can raise the volume of recycled waste. It goes without saying that when a behaviour becomes obligatory, there would be fines for those who disregard it. Consequently, determining penalties for families having unrecycled waste can effectively establish this behavioural pattern in society. The government of Sweeden, as an instance, considered some fines for housholds with a specific amount of unrecycled waste, which was a successful strategy to increase the amount of recycling in this country. On the other hand, there are other methods that can be even more efficacious to scale up recycling. Educational approaches to this matter can be more productive. It is universally acknowledged that education can exert a more profound impact on individuals in comparison with rules and fines. Recycling their waste, as the target behaviour, can be more deeply and effectively established in people by means of educational processes, such as schooling and media. For example, a study conducted in Germany has revealed that making secondary students conversant about recycling and its advantages can increase this behaviour in 62 percent of them. In conclusion, although some contend that more rules should be passed with respect to recycling, my personal opinion is that adopting such an approach can be effective, However, there are other tools, including education, that can help us obtain better results in this regard.