Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

These days, a second language is tangibly beneficial for students who seek better opportunities in the future life. Therefore, many schools commence educating their student in other languages like English in the elementary curriculums. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of teaching foreign languages at the early stages will be presented before my conclusion is reached. Various advantages can be received when children study linguistic skills at a very young age. First of all, pupils who practice English between the ages of 1 - 4 years old will be more fluent in English because kids have a promising ability to duplicate the accent. Secondly, pupils will realize other linguistics as the mother language. Eventually, they will have an accent and fluency like a native speaker, and will never forget the word or vocabulary, although they don't use it for a long time. For example, the students who study in international schools in Thailand from a young age tend to be bilingual kids, which can speak both Thai and English or Chinese fluently. However, being bilingual students can have disadvantages. As they have to remember more than one language simultaneously, they are likely to delay in expressing their word. According to research from Haward university, bilingual admission has to think more complicated than those monolinguals because a word can have various meanings from both native and foreign linguistics. Furthermore, sending children to international schools can cost a lot of money. For instance, in Thailand, the tuition fee for a semester cost around 1 million baths compared to ordinary schools where one semester cost only 30,000 baths. Hence, only kids from wealthy families are able to study in prestigious linguistic institutes. In conclusion, linguistics is one of the most crucial subjects to a great chance for children. Studying it at a young age will absolutely benefit them due to their fluency as native speakers, and being last long in their memory, which makes its advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.