In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages to primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, foreign languages are being taught to children at primary schools. I personally believe that the merits of this trend are more significant than its demerits. There are many drawbacks of teaching foreign languages to children in primary schools. First, learning foreign languages too early can lead to confusion in acquiring their native language. Children are still learning their mother tongue at this point in their life. As a result, they will be overloaded, which can result in mixing up words and being unable to recognize which one is for which language. Second, teaching other languages to young children can put children under a lot of stress. The main reason for this is that the amount of schoolwork and homework will increase significantly. However, it is my firm belief that the benefits of learning foreign languages in primary schools are more considerable. To begin with, it will give the young learners a head start. At this age, children can acquire foreign languages better, which means that they can become fluent more easily. As a consequence, these children will have the opportunity to grow alongside the additional language and culture. Moreover, their cognitive development can be benefited when they study a new language as primary schoolers. Research shows that learning a second language boosts problem-solving, critical thinking and other skills. Therefore, children can show signs of enhanced creativity and mental flexibility. In conclusion, although teaching foreign languages to primary school children can have certain downsides, I am firmly convinced that its upsides are weightier.