There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Urban areas have witnessed a population burst in recent years. This increased number has made the city housing areas insufficient to fulfil the public demand and caused different types of social consequences. Some people believe that the government is the only hope to solve this puzzle and I strongly agree with this notion. To support my point of view, I firmly believe that the uncontrolled and imbalanced urbanization has brought this dilemma upon us. Also, the lack of planning and conciousness from the planners has made the situation even worst. As a result, people of the below-income range are finding it hard to manage a proper housing. So, it is definitely the government, supreme authority who has the responsibilty to churn out the solutions. For example, if the urban planning unit of the government shows their creativity and initiates the plans to build a modern, sustainable and effective urban city area, the problem will be solved in no time. Explaining another supporting point to proof my view, it is the fact that the poor and homeless people choose areas like a footpath or the sideways of a highway to dwell as they find no other alternatives. As a result, there is a chance in the growth of crime rate of the city and decline in the proportion of socio-economic equilibrium. Again, government can play a vital role here. To cite an example, the government can build multi stored appartments apartment in the goernment-acquired lands so that many slum dwellers and the homeless people can have their own residence which will improve not only their lifestyle but also the social consequences caused by housing shortage. In conclusion, it is my strong belief that lack of housing in city areas have social consequences and it the government can easily tackle this hassle with proper plans and managements.