Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both the viewpoints and give your opinion.

Some people state that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. In this essay, I will discuss both views in this debate and give my own opinion. On the one hand, some people say that history has little or nothing to offer. They think that the present is more important than the past and that what happens in the past does not matter. For example, some education professors in my country, Vietnam, state that History should not be a compulsory subject and students should be able to choose if they will study it in their term or not. On the other hand, some people think that the study of the past helps us understand the present. They suggest that the past is very significant to our future development. It is true that we can learn from the past. To illustrate this, in the Vietnamese culture, the Dong Son drum is very important as generations of people portray pictures of their daily life, cultures and festivals on it. Thus, we Vietnamese can learn a lot about the past and remember our traditions. Lastly, I'll give my own opinion on this argument. I strongly agree with this statement as I think the study of the past helps us understand the present. It helps us to remember our roots and to follow beautiful traditions. Furthermore, the past is very significant to our future development as we can learn from our mistakes in the past. In conclusion, some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. I agree with the second statement as studying the past is very significant to our future. I suggest that people should learn to appreciate history as it is very crucial.