In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely argued that a large amount of money should be used for the construction of new railway lines that operates expresses between cities. In contrast, some people insist that the necessity of improving the existing public transporting system. Both opinions are persuasive to some extent, but I agree with the former opinion. If the new railway is constructed, it will have a positive impact on the rural areas. In recent years, mainly elderly people who cannot drive vehicles by themselves have some difficulties in their daily lives, for example, shopping and going to see a doctor, because of the lack of public transportation. The new railway that reaches the countryside may solve this problem. Moreover, the structuring of railways will bring the demand for employees and increase consumption in the areas around the new stations, and it will make growth of the local economy. On the other hand, Improving existing public transport may contribute to more comfortable use of public transportations in urban areas. For example, relieving the congestion of trains in the rush hour by increasing the number of trains is one of the reasonable and efficient ways to improve people’s satisfaction with public transportation. Furthermore, building a more functional station that is equipped with many shops and childcare services will be useful for commuting people. In conclusion, while building new railway lines mainly contributes to develop rural areas, increasing of functions of existing public transportation will have a positive impact on cities. Personally, I believe that the policy that insists new construction of railways will be the better way to use a large amount of money.