in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. discuuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

A gap year between college and campus has become increasingly popular among students recently and it is promoted by educational authorities. This one-year period, either to roam around the world or engage in employment comes along with its own positive and negative affect on the younger generation. On one hand, taking time off after completing secondary education has a few wonderful advantages. Firstly, It allows the students to reflect back on their decisions and provide a space to reconsider before they commit their entire life to one profession. The naive just out-of-school students would find themselves on a career path that they feel unhappy. For, instance the high rate of dropouts from universities and also quitting professions are due to the fault of rash choices. Thus, having a year off would result in happier professionals. Secondly, It is an opportunity to rekindle with family and friends. Both school education and, thereafter university life is hectic. One would find under immense stress from missing family time. Therefore, having quality time between the school and campus would relieve a lot of stress. On the other hand, the disadvantages are also there because of this period of rest. Most aspiring students would not return back to a competitive tertiary education after getting used to a quiet lifestyle. This would be an immense loss to the academic world. For instance, already children are dropping out of the education system for small temporary jobs and adapting to a lifestyle that provides them with daily wages. On, the contrary a professional life would involve a lot of sacrifices in the initial years of a career and revenue would generate in later life. In conclusion, youngsters would have better career choices and quality family moments when they are given an interval prior to higher learning but it would mislead many goal-oriented scholars. Therefore, providing this opportunity should be supervised and have guidance so they would benefit greatly and not fall away into negative effects.