The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, buying a house has been getting unaffordable in developed cities. Some believe that only government could make adjustments to the housing supply, and I strongly agree with this opinion and will explore it in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the critical reason for the overwhelming housing market is that both federal and provincial authorities have established policies to boost the economy in big cities. Consequently, those policies created abundant working opportunities in those areas, which promote young adults immigrating from their hometowns. For instance, the head offices of most companies are located in Toronto, which causes many university graduates to flush into Toronto for better pay and to settle down there. Secondly, the provincial government could build some more condos and townhouses instead of detached houses. Although living in a condo or townhouse does not have enough space as living in a detached house, it is an ideal method to satisfy the increasing demands of new houses. By doing so, it is also avoidable that lots of parks and farmlands would be turned into buildings. For example, in downtown Toronto, many old houses have been replaced by skyscrapers, which has been increasing the living capacity of this city and saving green belts for relaxation. Admittedly, there are some other ways to help remit the housing shortage too, such as working at home and getting a job in small towns. But by the above measures, the housing problems can not be solved permanently. In conclusion, big companies also can help resolve housing problems through online work, but I believe that only the government can regulate the housing market by making different policies, like new job creation and approval of condo building plans.