Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

The idea of providing distance education at numerous universities has become quite fashionable. Whilst I believe online courses to have great benefits in several cases, I presume that this trend may give rise to some downsides. On the one hand, it is my belief that this tendency is likely to be profitable. One noticeable advantage is an increase in the academic chances for social members. The adoption of video conferencing technology and free-to-use group chats in Internet-based courses may serve to facilitate the study of busy workers without leaving their current jobs. Furthermore, students could get access to academic lectures by prominent professors from World-famous universities via e-learning classes. Another point in favour is convenience. Online distance education enables students not only to take the initiative to plan their study schedule but also to review lectures, discussions, comments or share notes with each other on demand. On the other hand, there appear to be potential shortcomings stemming from this trend. One disadvantage is the lack of interaction with the instructors and fellow classmates in light of the internet disconnect. This procrastination may discourage learners from meeting their deadlines and completing their assignments. Student's plagiarism and dishonesty are areas of concern as well. Some critics feel that it is easier to plagiarize or share answers owing to reduced surveillance and increase connectivity. Consequently, this copyright infringement could drive them to the verge of being expelled from the course of study. Overall, based on what has been discussed above, it seems to me that learning activities through the medium of the internet have both the desired and adverse effects