People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the population who have just immigrated abroad are better to abide by the nation's norms. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement which is to participate in local's custom cultures and traditional activities to fit in them, whereas maintaining their own religious holiday also plays a vital role in society. On the one hand, following the customs and traditions in a new state is the easiest way to incorporate them into their lives. Even though a person's language level is good enough to have a conversation with other citizens, he or she never understands well the social behaviour in a new place. Besides, it is more difficult to fit in if a new immigrant refuses to experience the holidays, such as wearing traditional customers or eating special food. For instance, nowadays, international students often attempt to fit into local's life and get along with them by joining various cultural clubs at university. Hence, these indicate that it is vital to follow a nation's custom tradition for those immigrants. On the other hand, it is also important to maintain original cultural identities. It is to say the population who stay in a strange state trying to adapt to an unfamiliar culture, whereas they could still celebrate a festival on some big days or teach traditional stuff to their offspring in order to protect historical skills. For example, more and more people tend to celebrate ghost month and worship ancestors, in order to keep their religious customs, in spite of moving to a western country. Therefore, the population's cultural traditions would not disappear as they migrate to another country. In conclusion, despite the fact that following the customs in a new country in which they have just moved to fit in and experience various multicultural events, preserving the culture of the motherland and passing it on should not be ignored to avoid being gone one day.