some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or A negative development?

nowadays many children have filled their time on smartphones. it can be considered a common activity in the modern world as people's lifestyle has changed in different aspects. whether this hobby is positive or negative development will be discussed in this essay. it is obvious that a lot of factors contribute to excessive use of a smartphone by kids. firstly, the availability of new and cheap technological appliances like mobiles has been facilitated thanks to the advancement in Technologies. secondly, these days many families live in small apartments and most of them have an only child. consequently, their kids are deprived of playing with their siblings in the yard. it may result in spending hours on smartphones in order to play or chat with their peers. finally, the lack of community spirit, especially in urban areas, makes parents prevent their kids from getting to know neighbours' heirs. so, they prefer to keep them at home and provide them with more facilities such as mobiles or video games to fill this vacuity. spending a lot of time on smartphones is a mixed-blessing issue. in other words, it has its own advantages and disadvantages simultaneously. one of the most important merits is improving different learning skills including cognitive and problem-solving abilities. it also promotes the coordination between eyes, ears and hands among pupils. on the other hand, spending too much time on phones may bring about health problems. more precisely, it is along with a sedentary lifestyle which in turn, can cause different illnesses like obesity. moreover, spreading violent behaviour is another negative point of this issue because many games are played in violent atmospheres. in conclusion, it is ordinary for today's children to spend hours on smartphones every day. it happens mostly because of changes in individuals' way of life. I personally believe that it has its merits and drawbacks altogether. however, in my opinion, parents should set a constraint on the time that their children spend on phones in order to maximize its benefits.