To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In order to meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, some people may make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some still believe that bees are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. This essay will highlight the pros and cons of eating insects. Firstly,one of the advantages of eating caterpillars is that they are readily available and easy to capture. they do not require any hard way of processing, some may be freshly served. Furthermore, because these creatures are God's gift, they are not expensive, they require little or no cost. Examples are Cockroaches and worms, which are very nutritious, and rich in protein and iron. On the contrary, part of the disadvantages of consuming these animals may be due to the habitat they are found, they may harbour unhealthy micro-organisms which may have a negative impact on human health. Moreso, it may possess parts that when ingested, may lead to food poisoning and even death. Recently, research shows that some weaves may transfer infection either through their bite or by having contact with their bodily secretions. Mosquitoes, although not edible causes Malaria in human through their bite, they transmit plasmodium to their susceptible host. Furthermore, If these creatures are preyed on indiscriminately, it could affect the environment. Insects are very useful in the ecosystem because they help to pollinate crops and also increase the microbes needed for biodiversity. To conclude, although some of the bugs are sources of meal for mankind, certain rules and regulations should be enforced when it comes to their hunt. The benefit of preying on these creatures for consumption should not blindside their importance in nature.