The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems on emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, news reporting in media tends to place a greater emphasis on issues and emergencies than on affirmative progress. Some people think that individuals or society could be negatively influenced by those reports. However, I strongly disagree with the idea because the public should acknowledge the precise recognition of social issues and dark side of reality, and if the media continue to prioritize reporting positive developments, people could overlook the serious social problems. First, by media focusing on social issues and problems, the general population could recognize the accurate identification of social concerns and the dark side of reality. Unless the emergencies and grim news are reported, the situations won’t be known to ordinary people, which will lead to reducing the possibility to improve the problems. Consequently, it could bring bad effects on society as a whole. However, if the social incidents and concerns are broadcasted accurately, the public will be able to elicit diverse perspectives and opinions so that society can find a way to deal with the problems. For example, in Korea, there were pieces of news reported about flood damage 2 years ago. The news coverages mainly focused on problems with subsurface drainage systems. After the situation was broadcasted widely, there was a big shake-up in the drainage system in the district of “강서” located on the western side of Seoul. As a result, the province had the smallest flood damage this year. Secondly, people may overlook major social problems if the media continues to focus on favorable advances in society. Actually, media must play a crucial role to reveal the dark side of society. However, if the news reports unfairly give weight to report the positive developments, there will be fewer opportunities to let people know about serious social problems, which makes people sleep on fatal issues. Therefore, the possibility to resolve social problems will be gradually reduced. For example, in 2021, the majority of media misled the public by reporting that legislation of stalking crime had been reformed in a better way. However, truth is that the number of stalking crimes is increased by 70% compared to a year ago, and people have no way to be informed of this reality. Eventually, this proves that the situation would be getting worse if the media unequally exaggerate (concentrate on) positive changes in society. In conclusion, I firmly disagree with this idea because the public should comprehend the precise identification of social concerns and the dark side of reality, and if the media continues to prioritize reporting positive developments, people may miss major social problems which will cause serious social problems in the future.