The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, all around the world, we can observe that animal protection is an important factor. Many people argue whether zoos help animals or they do more harm to the animals. Others believe that zoos should be banned. I am in favour of protecting the animals, thus I think that zoos do protect animals and should therefore not be banned. Zoos play an important role in a country as they definitely help to protect animals and, likewise they are a source of education, especially for kids. When a child visits a zoo, he learns about the different animals and species. Additionally, zoos help countries to increase their financials. However, I am not in favour of depriving animals of their freedom. It is unfair that animals are kept enclosed with barriers all their lifetime and are used to entertain people. But, when analysing the facts, these animals are more protected, being in cages, rather than in their natural habitats. There are many hunters who illegally kill wild animals for example, in African countries, elephants are killed for the trade of ivory and leopards are being hunted for their skins which are very expensive. Although there are zoos, the government should find other ways to protect animals such as natural reserves. There are lots of endemic species and zoos are not appropriate places for such animals, they require a safer habitat where they are not stressed and live peacefully in a natural environment. In conclusion, I believe that zoos are important to protect animals and is a fundamental part of society for a long time. The government should ensure that these animals are protected and get the required treatments.