Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Despite having an improvement in the overall world economy indicators in recent decades, several regions around the world are still facing dire economic situations and need more attention from international communities as their governments are unable to tackle these issues on their own. Some people believe wealthy and more developed countries should lend their hands to those in need while others believe this responsibility should be solely placed in the government’s hands. In my perspective, it should be an obligation for wealthy countries to provide the mean necessary for these poorer countries to be able to get through the crisis and I will elaborate more on this in the following paragraphs. To begin with, looking from an outsider’s perspective, it might seem like these economic problems are the result of poor management by the country’s governments but in truth, these issues were caused by several factors. Wars, internal conflicts, ongoing political turmoils, and a low level of autonomy from governments are one of the main factors that caused the problems, especially in undeveloped countries and heated regimes like those in South Africa and the middle east. If we ever trace back to the roots of the problem, we will find out that this ongoing political unrest that has severely affected the entire region is partly the doings of global superpowers who wished to exploit poorer countries for natural resources and cheap labour or tried to use the ongoing conflicts as proxy wars with other powerful regions. The most notorious example would be the cold war between the US and the Soviet Union which eventually left a lot of undeveloped countries with unstable regimes that are prone to wars and conflicts. Hence, it is an obligation for wealthier countries to provide help to those who have to suffer from their doings. Moreover, helping poorer countries to be able to get on their feet, lessen the effect of economic disasters and increase overall economic prosperity can benefit richer countries too. More people in these countries gaining more ability to spend can help increase overall global demand for the companies that are based in more wealthy countries. For example, smartphones are mostly products from more well-off regions like the US, South Korea, and China but are being sold around the world, with more competitors in the market these companies are in need of finding a new customer base. Assisting these countries can help provide these businesses with new markets and more demand and as a result, generate more economic value for the countries. In conclusion, with how many regions around the globe still suffering from the economic crisis which resulted in millions of people having poor living conditions, it is an important responsibility for wealthy countries to provide the means like food and education for them. However, I believe that the help should come with certain conditions for these poorer countries to embrace the system of democracy and promote human rights so that they can build the country from the ground up with a strong foundation and as a result, bring peace and prosperity to the regions and their citizens.