In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that due to the advance in technology and medication, people in modern days have an increased life expectancy; however, a number of downsides might arise from this trend. From my perspective, several manners can be taken in response to these issues. One evident problem that can be anticipated is the increasing expenditure of governments. As the population of elderly grows, the demand for healthcare and medication will therefore increase. In this predicament, governments will have to increase the budget to cater for the needs of the elderly, and this can encumber the financial burden of the government. Another problem is the rising tax pressure on the younger generation. To exemplify, as the outlay on health expenditure increases and the population of pensioners rises, the government will have to seek more money to cover the cost. Eventually, the pressure of the rising tax will pass to the working adults and the younger generation, leading them to bear the increasing tax burden. Though several problematic issues can be seen as the average lifespan extends, measures can still be adopted to tackle the menace. One feasible method is to raise the retirement age to mitigate the tax burden that falls on the younger generation. Another viable approach is that governments can encourage immigration, by doing so, it can increase the productivity of the nation; meanwhile having more sources of taxation in order to tackle the problem of the insufficient budget. In conclusion, though the problem of the ageing society is looming, measures can still be implemented to ameliorate and further upcoming issues.