Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is hard to deny that building public libraries cost a lot, and there are many opportunity costs for government’s limited budget. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate opinion that government should not spend money on establishing libraries. However, such a statement should be examined meticulously. As far as education, equality and economy are concerned, I strongly hold that libraries play a critical role in many aspects of our society. First and foremost, libraries could raise the education level of the society. They enable people to access more accurate and professional knowledge from books and magazines that are written by professionals. Books and magazines have a more formal and complex publication process, which means they usually had been read and corrected before being published. In contrast, the internet allows anybody to upload their own writing that do not require much thought, thus people might be misguided by them. Therefore, encourage people to read books from libraries is a much better way to raise people ’s standards of literacy. Furthermore, public libraries also provide a quiet environment for people to read without charging, which can not be offered by internet. This is particularly important for disadvantaged students who could not have their own study space at home. Studying in an environment away from noises could help them to be more concentrated and thus improve their academic performances, which increase their possibilities of getting well-paid jobs in the future. Besides, families that could not afford buying books could borrow them from libraries freely. Therefore, free public libraries have positive impacts on narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor. Nonetheless, a voice arises that spending money to construct libraries is a waste. This viewpoint ignores the reality that libraries would bring us many financial benefits. Although libraries are expensive to build and money spending on education usually seems like less influential than those spending on healthcare, the impacts of this expenditure should be massive in long-term. When citizens are better educated, the rate of conflicts and crimes would decrease as people become more peaceful and tolerant. In addition, gaining more knowledge usually enables workers to become more productive and make entrepreneurs to become more intelligent. This could increase the efficiency in a country’s economy and thus generate economic growth. In conclusion, I believe that although information could be accessed through internet, free public libraries are still essential in today’s world.