In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There has been an inclusive debate about whether teaching children to put effort as much as possible into everything is an accurate idea or not. The supporters claim there are considerable benefits to teaching kids to try hard to overcome everything, while critics argue that they would face mental issues if they are pressured a lot. In my humble opinion, I believe that educating children to take an effort is considered a double-edged sword as explained in examples follow: To begin with, children who are taught to be determined in their work will result in better patience. If they want to achieve a higher score in school, they have to focus deliberately on their work. Thus, they would learn to be forbearing and that the positive results take time and will come from their hard work. Another reason is it will enhance and excel their expertise in a particular field as they put a lot of time into achieving things. On the other hand, putting an effort into some things will affect children ’s mental health. When they deeply focus on something too much, kids will feel a lot of pressure not only from themself but also from their parents as well. Since they are too young and don’t know how to cope with those pressures. Thus, it obviously leads to some mental illnesses such as depression or emotional disorders. For Instance, my friend was forced and told to study a lot when she was in high school as her mother wanted her to enter medical school. Later on, she was suffering from this and could not handle her stress. Finally, she had depression and she failed to get into medical school. To summarise, even though teaching children to become hardworking people have various benefits, it poses drawbacks. Thus, I have a firm conviction that endeavour is considered a two-sided coin that parents should carefully be aware of.