Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Drug intake among the youth has increased at a fast pace in recent years. Many people are of the view that drug addicts are criminals and should be imprisoned. On the other hand, few believe that they should be sent to hospitals and that proper treatment should be provided. This essay will discuss both the views and opine on the fact that not all drug addicts are criminals and assistance should be provided to these people like normal patients in some cases. Firstly, we need to pay attention to the fact that most of the crime these days is being conducted by people who do not have fixed jobs, lack basic facilities and have poor family backgrounds. The majority of such class of people are found dealing drugs and eventually become drug addicts. Society has fear these folks as they have been caught doing serious crimes like rape, assaulting women, stealing and much more. Therefore, we can say that most criminals are drug addicts as well. Hence, it becomes necessary for the authorities to punish them and sent them to jail for the welfare of the general public. On the contrary, there is a fine line between drug addicts and criminals in some places. There also exists a class of drug addicts who have started taking cocaine, heroin etc as a result of bad company, loss of families, unemployment etc and become habitual to it as it helped them release stress in the first place. They do not harm society but use drugs as an antidote to their anxiety. These adults need help from our government by way of their proper treatment in hospitals so that they can get rid of such a bad addiction and continue to live their life in a normal manner. Hence, we conclude that the government needs to understand the true identity of the drug addicts and accordingly decide whether they need to be sent to prisons or health care centres.