Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary epoch, there is a common phenomenon among children of playing and watching violent content. Whilst some individuals are of the belief that these kinds of video games and movies have a plethora of demerits on the community and should be prohibited by the government, others have a diverse view. I strongly agree that films and video computer games which contain violent scenes have detrimental consequences on the offspring. In the following lines, both merits and demerits, along with my perspective, will be further demonstrated. On one hand, aggressive video games and cinematic films have dire consequences on children’s behaviour such as suicide and killing people. In other words, the crime rates among youngsters have risen significantly in the meantime after playing brutal war games like PUBG. For instance, according to an article that has been published in the Ahram Weekly newspaper, the root cause of the investigations of youth crimes committed in Egypt in 2020 and 2021 was the negative influence of the movies and games which contain attacking and killing scenes. Hence, if the government and parents draw more attention to the behaviour of the youngsters, this will significantly alleviate the youth crimes in a proactive way before facing deleterious effects on the community. Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages mentioned above, viewing violent movies and games may have an un-harmful contribution to children’s attitudes based on several factors. To illustrate, the Interpersonal skills of the young generations have improved significantly after playing strategic war games like language and communication skills. This is exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of students in the Ain Shams University, students who played Fifa with foreign peers have achieved high grades in English language tests in Egypt. This example shows that these entertaining action games may shape better future of children in Arab countries like Egypt and will improve their mental health, and open-mindedness and broaden their horizons. In conclusion, after presenting the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that playing attacking computer games and action movies is a double-edged weapon. I strongly believe that these sorts of games and movies will negatively impact children’s behaviour and rise the youth crime rates in the community. Therefore, the government and fathers and mothers shall employ censorship to protect the offspring from violent content and sensitive virtual images.