More and more people and organizations are using digital technology for contact with other people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using digital technology for communication?

In this contemporary world, the way people are connecting with each other, personally or professionally, has completely changed. Just as every coin has a flip side, digital technology for communication brings both positive as well as negatives impact on our life. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both The use of digital platforms for communication has myriad merits. The first and predominant one, in my opinion, is convenient and cost-efficient. In the past, people, when no phone or internet was there, connect and share important news with their distant family members via mail, which was costly and inconvenient. However, with the help of digital platforms like WhatsApp, and social media such as Facebook, communication becomes faster and cost-effective. At the same time, they can also see their faces and get emotionally attached to the conversation. Furthermore, for companies, due to globalization, these days employees are working from different geographical locations, sometimes from different countries. Digital communication is making total sense here as they do not want to travel miles to meet someone. On the other hand, the major drawback it has is people are not socially engaged even though they are socially connected, consequently, lacking of understanding different cultures. Although most of the time the digital platform is efficient, in some cases one to one connection is required, for,example feedback discussion, promotion discussion and sharing some bad news with nearby friends. In conclusion, I recapitulate that there are innumerable benefits of using digital platforms for communication for both personal reasons and professional reasons.