Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been a controversial and debatable topic for a very long time whether longer time in prison or extreme punishments is the best solution to reduce crime or whether we should try to look at other angles of the issue and find better and more sustainable alternatives. In my perspective, extreme penalization might be necessary but I think it is more important to find different alternatives and I will elaborate on this topic in the following paragraphs. To begin with, to reduce the rate of crime we must find the factors that caused them. Illegal activities are not entirely caused by evil intentive but rather social issues like lack of opportunities in life, low level of education, and poverty which lead to them committing a crime. As we can see how there is a higher number of criminal activities in the areas that are less civilized with overall lower levels of income and education. Therefore, to fix the issue, we must tackle these social issues and improve the condition of society for everyone. Moreover, the longer time they spend in jail, the more difficult they can get back to society, and hence, they might feel estranged and alienated from society, which can eventually increase the chance of them committing crimes and illegal activities again. However, long prison sentences might be necessary for some situations or cases like murder, rape, or extreme fraud which is entirely intended by the person who committed the crime. Thus, these criminals might deserve severe penalties. Nevertheless, it depends on the judges and justice systems to decide an intention for each case and make the judgment as fair as possible. In conclusion, I believe that in order to lower the number of crimes and make society better and more suitable for everyone It is a more sustainable solution to find the roots of all the problems rather than order extreme penalties because as long as the root causes still remain, the problem itself will never disappear.