In spite of the advancements made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry. why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

In the foreseeable future seems that the world's population will be in deer need of nourishment, despite the new developments in agriculture. The causes lay in the disproportional access to these advances as well as in the effects of global warming. In the short term, increasing accessibility to the new agricultural solutions would solve the issue One of the main problems is the lack of access to modern agriculture. Resulting in archaic agricultural techniques being applied in terrains not suitable for them. Leading at best to over-exploitation of the soil and at worst the lack of harvest. The reasons are that patents are held by a few and the price for technologies needed to implement more optimal agricultural techniques, useful in more harsh environments, are not within the reach of many, mostly in underdeveloped countries. For example, agriculture in Somalia would benefit from the knowledge and resources applied in Israel, but the Somali producer has not the knowledge nor the reach to technologies such as desalination plants to turn seawater into sweet water. Therefore to solve the issue in the short term, a supranational organization could sponsor the sharing of technical knowledge, like hydroponics or drop-by-drop plant watering, and technology applicable to cultivation, such as new breeds of seeds, to those developing countries. Perhaps developed countries may not profit from the technology given away to the third world but would benefit by receiving less immigration. In conclusion, disproportional access to new ways of cultivation will translate into starvation for most of the population, sharing techniques and technology with a market out of which no profit would be made, would be beneficial to all in the long run and will prevent broad starvation to happen. If we do it now.