Nowadays, old people have to compete with young people for employment. What are the problems it will lead to? What are the solutions?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, people attach great importance to social well-being. Under this circumstance, the fact that there is fierce competition between the old and younger in the labor market has been thrown into sharp focus. In this essay, potential consequences and appropriate solutions will be discussed. Firstly, it is noteworthy that when old workers are not given high preference by recruiters, social welfare systems will shoulder a huge financial burden for maintaining the old. Nowadays, many demographic studies have shown that, although it is invisible, the aging population is exerting monetary shortage and eroding the national budget, especially when the old are no longer productive numbers, but are pensioners who are depending on social welfare for living. Besides, another problem that should be taken into account is that on some occasions, young candidates can not outperform old counterparts, resulting in a huge loss of sources. For instance, according to research, in many cultures experienced old workers are sought after due to the richness of hands-on, the grasp of rules of thumb and the firm possession of know-how. In this context, the investment in the education system to equip youngsters with theoretical knowledge, and specialized insight is a waste of financial sources. Regarding solutions, to crack this hard nut, feasible remedies should be adopted without any delay. Lawmakers should put some schemes on the agenda. The first approach is that governments should enhance overall awareness of citizens towards this problem through publicity and education to make them realize that old workers are of valuable skills which are complementary to youngsters. For example, after a lifetime of working, they often accumulate practical experiences that are non-transferable by formal curriculums. Meanwhile, some regulations should be issued to ensure that companies have room for young workers. Specifically, severe punishment could be imposed on employers who also deny employment to employ young job-seekers. If the governments could enact strict laws and impose tough punishment on potential fenders, the problem could be reduced significantly. In conclusion, as the culprits and feasible remedies have been discussed above, this crisis can be promisingly resolved with the joint efforts of relevant parties. As can be seen from actual life, each stage of life always has a certain career position available for us to apply.