Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In the current times, family members are moving away when compared to the past and most of society has come to terms with this fact. The reason for this situation is to desire more independence from a personal family. This essay will explain why this trend's disadvantages outweigh its advantages. There are many advantages to this trend. Firstly, every person will gain freedom from being closely monitored by immediate family members. This can aid him/her in making the personal decision without discussing or defending them with their parents, partners or own children. Secondly, with the advent of technology, people working in distant locations can stay connected via video calls. This mode of communication gives them the same feeling as talking in person. For example, Zoom meeting calls are increasingly popular as they have given people a choice to choose a career far away from the city where their immediate family member is located. However, there are significant drawbacks to this situation. Primarily, children would lack the physical touch of parents while staying away in distant schools and hostels, which would also apply to spouses who are maintaining distant relationships. For example, physical touch like sharing a shoulder to lean on or a gentle kiss on the forehead can be a great morale booster in facing the challenges of life. Additionally, if every person stops seeing his / her own family in reality, then the feeling of emotional, financial and social support of family would cease to exist in their mind. As a result, they would become more self-centred and would not have an outlet to share emotions and this behaviour would damage their physical and mental health. Thus, we can say that the drawback of not living with family would be losing the courage to face life problems. In conclusion, the negative impacts are more severe than the benefits of staying away from family members. But the current generation is taking the nearsighted benefits and ignoring the far-sighted graver consequences. It is recommended to consider long-term problems before making the decision to live far away from family.