We should protect and renovate many historical monuments and other cultural buildings even if it is expensive for countries to do so. Do you agree with this statement

Some individuals suggest that the government and the public should make efforts to preserve and revamp historical monuments and other cultural constructions regardless of how much money they cost. While I agree with this viewpoint, I also believe that this proposal can be hard to carry out in today's globalized world where there are more serious issues needed to address first. On the one hand, I consider that memorials and cultural property are of critical importance in educating people about the life of the past. The general public is given a deeper insight into the cultures and traditions of the old world by observing monuments and traditional buildings. For example, monuments with inscriptions give the locals details about the languages used by their ancestors many years ago, as well as, their mode of communication. Therefore, it is essential to refurbish and improve these historical memorials and buildings since they can potentially inspire and motivate people to learn about their country's history. However, I contend that there are a number of controversial problems that are still remained insurmountable such as climate change and global warming. These issues are manifesting their negative effects on human life. Since the maintenance of historical obelisks and buildings takes a huge toll on states' budgets, others more serious issues will not be tackled effectively due to the lack of financial resources, prompting the vicious cycle of further warming and carbon emissions. Therefore, governments should prioritise the problems that are exerting their negative impacts on their citizens. In conclusion, although preserving and refurbishing tangible cultural heritage such as statues, monuments and cultural buildings are necessary, there are more important problems that are much needed to address first.