Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many young people these days enjoy playing computer games in their spare time. It is considered to be a fun hobby. I would argue however that there are a number of serious issues regarding digital sports, and that we ought to be very cautious about allowing children to become absorbed in this world. This essay outlines some of the key issues about online gaming, and why it is so dangerous. Firstly, online gaming is quite harmful to physical health. It is proven that excessive screen time and sedentary hobbies, especially online gaming, lead to a raft of health issues. Young people who game tend to neglect exercise, so are much more likely to become unfit and obese. Whatsmore they can get very poor eyesight from the excessive screentime, and get very sore back and bad posture from slumping by the computer. Secondly, gaming has a lot of negative effects on mental health. Being online all the time means students neglect real-life social skills, and are much more likely to be lonely and depressed. Whatsmore, gaming is designed to be highly addictive, and as a result, they stay up all night, and become too exhausted to study or focus in school. These effects carry on into adulthood, and affect a person's ability to go to work or have healthy relationships. For example, I had many friends who used to spend 20 to 30 hours per week playing World of Warcraft, and they were suffering from depression, and anxiety and were overall quite miserable. So, in conclusion, I think it is best to limit screen time and gaming for young children and encourage real-life play and physical activity. While gaming might be fun in moderation, I argue that it is wise for teachers and parents to help young people form better habits for a healthier future.