In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Attending online courses have been gaining popularity throughout recent years. There have been more and more of various kinds of online courses available to people. While some view these as valuable chances, some tend to have reservations relating to these courses. In the following paragraphs, the pros and cons of getting these classes would be discussed in details. People in decades ago might be hard to imagine they could join a class while staying in miles away from the schools. This indeed is possible nowadays by going into a virtual classroom even just sitting at home. There is no doubt that virtual learning removes all the geographical restriction prevailing in the old days. For instance, Asian people could currently attend a virtual lesson which is organised by a European education institution. Not only the venue of an online class could be arranged without locational limitation, the time for attending such could also be very flexible. For example, in previous days, if certain employees rush into the crowded traffic in hope that they will not be late as the class will be starting just on half an hour after their official off- time, left alone they may need to work on extra hours from time to time. However, due to the development of the technology, they are able to pick a coffee shop nearby their offices so that they can attend the virtual class on time easily. For some classes, videos are also uploaded to the internet platform so that people can visit at their earliest convenience. While there are a couple of advantages as mentioned above, having virtual classes sometime might deprive people of opportunities to interact and discuss with others. For example, in a real classroom context, people are more convenient to have face-to-face in-depth discussions with the others with instant responses. This in fact is an essential element for many people to understand knowledge more comprehensively through talking and listening. On the other hand, studing in a virtual classroom might bring some concentration related issues to somebodies as they may be off-tracked if they are just stay at home. Overall, there are always arguments on both sides as to whether it is more beneficial of studying with the traditional way or trying some brand new way like taking the virtual lesson. Choosing which kinds would always depend on your needs and circumstances.