Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. “Parents should not pressure their children to choose a particular profession. Young people should have the freedom to choose a career path they like. To what extent do you agree or disagree?” You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence

There are multiple factors influencing a person's choice of career they want to pursue. It is most commonly thought that parents should not force their children to opt for a particular profession and should, instead, let them have the freedom to choose the path they prefer. In my opinion, I fully agree with this idea, and this essay will discuss my point of view in the following paragraphs. Firstly, giving the freedom of choice to young people has many advantages. One of them would be the ability to choose fields they are passionate about. Having a passion for a particular profession makes the person motivated to work and be productive, while also making him eager to learn more about it. An example to illustrate that would be choosing medicine as a career path, as this field is a long and tiring one, and having a passion for it is necessary to keep the person motivated to study and learn for many years, and that was my case personally. Moreover, parents should not force their children to choose a particular profession because they might make the wrong choice for them. Most parents usually pressure their kids to opt for degrees in the medical or the lawyering fields, thinking that these fields are the best and most fruitful ones instead of letting them choose what they have devotion and talent for. To illustrate that, many career paths, such as painting or architecting, need a certain level of aptitude to excel in them, and this is only obtained through dedication, that is why well-known artists followed their passion in the first place. To summarize, I personally think that it is crucial for adults to let their children follow their own talents, making them more independent by letting them make their own choices instead of carving a specific path for them, and this is what I'm willing to do when I will have kids in the upcoming years.