The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the last 5 decades women have conquered many great obstacles all around the world to get to where we are today. However, in most places society still has much to go for gender equality. From my point of view, women have indeed come a long way, re-earning their rights, but I also agree that women are still not seen as equal to men. This essay will discuss how the position of women changed in the world and will bring a few points to clarify my point of view. Firstly, all through history women were seen as objects for men to use. Girls were raised to be wives, to be good and not to open their mouths. With much protest and hard work from many women around the world, this idea began to change and females started to have a life of their own, they can do things that were only allowed for men, such as having a proper job, driving, choosing not to marry and not to have children, going places for themselves and not for men. The things those strong-minded women conquered paved the way for many generations to come and continue to do the work until there is equality. Nevertheless, as much change women have made throughout those 50 years, getting to speak up and find their place in society, it is clear that most countries still do not consider men and women as equals, females have to continually fight to be seen and taken as seriously. There is a tv show on Netflix called hierarquia that portrays this scenario where a woman works at a law firm with men and to be seen as equal to all those men, she has to work quadruple as hard. And even then, she is still treated differently at the table. From my point of view, it doesn't matter how much women try to change the world and find their place, if men don't want to change and see women as equal, there will always be challenges that women have to go through that males never will just to be viewed as the same. In conclusion, females have earned their equal place in society for years, and yet, still have to fight to be seen.