The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in everyday life. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the widespread use of social media is replacing face-to-face contact in daily life. Although this replacement has several disadvantages, the benefits may be far more significant. On the one hand, there can be some minor drawbacks of people using social media. One possible issue is that some people may have reduced social skills and difficulties mingling with strangers. The reason for this is that they are used to communicating with each other through electronic devices, so when meeting face to face they will feel nervous and do not know how to start a normal conversation, especially with self-deprecating, introverted people. Another adverse effect can be reduced communication when meeting each other. This is because they are prone to addiction and the habit of using social media whenever they have free time reduces the time they spend talking when they meet their friends and relatives. Nevertheless, the fact that using social media to replace face-to-face contact can have several major advantages which overshadow these negative impacts. The most obvious benefit may be that they make friends with people far away from where they live. As a result, they have more relationships without spending so much time and money to meet and go to other places. Another merit worth mentioning is that they can express what they want to say clearly without being affected by other factors. The reason for this is that they feel more comfortable and open-minded when they can think twice before deciding to say something, and sometimes it's just that other people won't be able to see how they feel. In conclusion, despite the potential downsides of using social media to replace face-to-face contact the beneficial effects brought about are of greater importance.