Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

No one can deny that obesity and malnutrition are becoming more and more threats in some developed countries. The accelerating pace of life force people to be fed junk food or processed foods. According to some people, reform of the fast food taxation system may be a solution to deal with such problems. As far as I am concerned, a tax on them cannot abstain people from eating fast foods so I totally disagree with the statement. To begin with, it is highly important to understand that in today's conditions, eating processed or fast food is compulsory for the majority of people who have to attend a school or go to their job in the morning. Such workers and students, mostly have to wake up earlier and skip healthy breakfast. Eating fast food, such as sandwiches and toast, on the road is the only solution for them. For this reason, increasing tax rates on these foods may restrict such people to reach them. For instance, in Turkey, a tax policy was put into action by the government regarding products, such as alcohol and cigar, to reduce the percentage of consumption they push people to consume other illegal products rather than reducing. Instead of an extra tax on unhealthy foods, some other workable solutions can apply such as public announcements about the benefits of having a healthy diet or encouraging people so that they have a more mobile lifestyle. The former can be achieved readily by using public television channels or cooperating with well-known doctors. Hence, public awareness of eating healthy and avoiding fast food can be aroused. In addition, notifications popping up on the screen in the workplace at regular intervals may hearten workers to be more mobile. To sum up, changing peoples’ eating habits by educating and pushing them to be more mobile in order to burn calories which get fast foods are effective solutions rather than adding an extra charge on foods. If sufficient awareness can be aroused, the rate of being overweight will reduce gradually.