The majority of news is bad news such as wars famines accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Media has a fundamental role in the majority of people’s lives as they prefer to be updated with contemporary pieces of news. The role of newspapers and news channels is to report disclosures of the world in an unadulterated fashion. However, a major part of the society feels that the most of news they are being exposed to is pessimistic and bad and it is well-known that it happens to be for the sake of TRP (Television rating programs). Despite this, I personally believe there should be a balance between positive and negative news. Everything relating to my point of view will be discussed in upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, it cannot be denied that there is stiff competition in every sector nowadays and the news industry is no exception. To stay in that competition, news channels require more readership and viewership. Because of the fact that the human mind is naturally intrigued by negative things, unwanted incidents such as rape, murder or starvation often make the headlines. When this happens, citizens are shocked to hear that such events are happening around the world, but at the same time, they feel relieved that it is not happening to them. In short, bad news will never bore readers and therefore get excessive coverage in the media. Furthermore, the content provided in broadcasts is generally based on actual facts, and it is important to be objective when reporting. Partly due to globalization and advanced technology, crime rates, accidents and dangers are increasing. The responsibility of news reporters is to make people informed about these changes around the world in order to be prepared mentally and take timely measures. For instance, disclosures about natural disasters play an important role in aiding the affected people in evacuation and preparation, as well as other regions’ audiences to yield financial support and encouragement. Understandably, pessimistic news exists for a cause. Alternately, there must be a balance between bad and good reports without any doubt. To explain, both kinds are vital to the society: bad ones makes people aware of mishappenings or current problems, while the other promotes enthusiasm and a feeling of security in a person. The equal display of both types helps stabilise emotions, improve our significance in reading and selection in information acquisition. Henceforth, one of such kind should not be overly presented or avoided. In the end, it is undeniable that the number of bad news has been increasingly telecasted, the reasons for this are popularity boost and responsibility. However, I restate my opinion that a balance between positive and negative news must be maintained at all costs as both are vital.