Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A large number of processed food and drink products have high levels of sugar which result in numerous health problems, therefore, these products ought to be more expensive to discourage individuals from consuming so much sugar. I agree with this statement because it would encourage people to choose healthier food instead and less strain on health services. The first reason why I think it is a good idea to increase the price of sugary products to encourage people to buy products that have less sugar is that people would choose healthier food. That is to say that consumers tend to buy food at lower prices, therefore, if the price of sugary products is high, more people are likely to buy other food options at lower prices. For example, in many restaurants, fizzy drinks are more expensive than drinking water, and as a result, many customers prefer to drink water instead of sodas. The other reason why I believe increasing the price of sugary products would discourage people to consume high sugary products is that it would reduce the strain on health services. That is to say, there would be fewer people complaining about health problems from sugary products as they are not consuming them more. For instance, in Somalia, there was a significant decline in the number of people coming into the hospitals and complaining about obesity after the government rose the tax on sugary products. In conclusion, I agree that increasing the price of sugary food and drink products would result in the reduction of using them because people would choose healthier foods and also there would be fewer people going to hospitals.