Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The increasing rate of animal loss from their habitats is found to be a huge concern these days. One of the main drivers contributing to this trend is illegal hunting, and therefore, the government’s involvement in providing wildlife conservation is strongly required to mitigate this matter. Irresponsible animal hunting stands as the primary reason for some species endangerment. This is due to the fact that some hunters might misplace their bid on pregnant mammals with long gestation periods, thus, the offspring will never be born. For instance, rampant poaching has reportedly happened in South Sulawesi, causing some pregnant elephants to die. This has caused the delay of elephant breeding, as they are known to be pregnant for up to 2 years. To mitigate this threat, some actions should be implemented by the governments, one of them is by providing wildlife conservation, especially for regions with an abundance of forests. This wildlife protection could protect endangered animals and preserve these beautiful living creatures by providing an ecosystem similar to their natural habitats. For example, as the South Sulawesi’s authority has been alarmed by the decline of elephants in their region, they started to create elephant conservations. This has proven to accelerate the number of baby elephants born and encourages sustainable practices. In conclusion, there has been an ongoing discussion towards animal extinctions, which are mainly caused by outlaws hunting since hunters often shoot at pregnant animals. Mitigations of this issue could be implemented, one of them is by creating wildlife conservation by the government to protect the upbringing of these animals.