Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In school, it has always been a major issue to give homework to children. While others argue that homework is essential in the development of children, others view it as unnecessary and unimportant. The following paragraphs will explore and elaborate on the conflicting views as well as provide a logical conclusion on the said issue. With the number of assignments that are being sent home, students get stressed and overworked because they spend their time studying at home instead of resting after long hours in school. Like adults, they also need work and life balance to keep themselves physically and mentally healthy. I believe that young students should also be given ample time to play and relax as they are just children. Additionally, after- school hours should be spent mostly with their families and friends, especially at weekends and not on school tasks. As I commonly observe, play or going out with friends and families are always used by adults to motivate and force children in finishing their academic work. I feel that it is unhealthy to deprive children of play and enjoyment. On the other hand, assignment is a helpful way of building good study habits at home. Moreover, it helps in strengthening their knowledge learnt in class and students develop a sense of responsibility which is an important skill in life. Doing school work at home is an opportunity to bond with their parents. Not only that parents can do follow-ups on the lessons but also they can be updated on their children ’s academic performance in school. Oftentimes, those children that have outstanding academic performance are known to have good study habits at home. In conclusion, as others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children, I strongly oppose it. In my own opinion, letting children play more and work less is vital to their holistic development. I believe more in taking good care of the children ’s mental health than their academic grades.